

## HOUSE OF COMMONS LONDON SW1A 0AA

The Rt Hon Nick Thomas-Symonds MP Minister for the Constitution and European Union Relations Cabinet Office 70 Whitehall London SW1A 2AS

By email only

10th December 2024

Dear Minister,

## **Re: Youth Mobility Scheme**

We are writing to call for the government to establish a Youth Mobility Scheme between the EU and the UK.

We are glad that the government has committed to resetting our relationship with the EU and that the Prime Minister and Foreign Secretary are actively engaging to rebuild trust and relations with our European neighbours through meeting with the European Commission and Foreign Affairs Council.

Providing opportunities to young people should be at the heart of government policy and we believe that establishing a Youth Mobility Scheme would not only offer huge benefits to young people but also would have a broader range of benefits including strengthening cultural, social and economic links between the EU and the UK.

We want to forge a new partnership with our European neighbours, built on co-operation, not confrontation and move towards a new comprehensive agreement. A crucial step in this process is rebuilding confidence by agreeing partnerships and associations, helping to restore prosperity and opportunities for British people.

As you know, this would not lead to a return to freedom of movement. Establishing a UK-EU Youth Mobility Scheme would mirror existing capped arrangements the UK has with 13 countries including Australia, New Zealand and Canada. Delivering such a scheme would provide a "return on investment" in the form of "soft power" that was never seemingly factored into the approach of the previous Conservative Government.

Given the EU has been very clear that they would welcome a Youth Mobility Scheme with the UK, we urge you to embark on these negotiations to expand opportunities for young people across the country and acknowledge the broader benefits which this scheme could provide.

We very much look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

## Yours sincerely

SarahOlvey

Sarah Olney

Liberal Democrat Spokesperson for Cabinet Office

Gideon Amos MP

Steff Aquarone MP

Josh Babarinde MP

Clive Jones MP

Paul Kohler MP

Ben Lake MP

Paula Barker MP James MacCleary MP
Alison Bennett MP Angus Macdonald MP

Alex Brewer MP Ben Maguire MP Helen Maguire MP Jess Brown Fuller MP Charlotte Cane MP Mike Martin MP Alistair Carmichael MP Brian Mathew MP David Chadwick MP Charlie Maynard MP Wendy Chamberlain MP Calum Miller MP Danny Chambers MP John Milne MP Ellie Chowns MP Layla Moran MP Chris Coghlan MP Edward Morello MP

Victoria Collins MP

Daisy Cooper MP

Adam Dance MP

Steve Darling MP

Helen Morgan MP

Tom Morrison MP

Tessa Munt MP

Susan Murray MP

Bobby Dean MP Manuela Perteghella MP

Lee Dillon MP Al Pinkerton MP

Sarah Dyke MP Joshua Reynolds MP

Sorcha Eastwood MP Ian Roome MP Anna Sabine MP Colum Eastwood MP Tim Farron MP Roz Savage MP Richard Foord MP Vikki Slade MP Will Forster MP Lisa Smart MP Zöe Franklin MP Ian Sollom MP Andrew George MP Jamie Stone MP Stephen Gethins MP Zarah Sultana MP Sarah Gibson MP

Rachel Gilmour MP

Olly Glover MP

Marie Goldman MP

Tom Gordon MP

Sarah Green MP

Monica Harding MP

Pippa Heylings MP

Wera Hobhouse MP

Christine Jardine MP

Liz Jarvis MP

Luke Taylor MP

Cameron Thomas MP

Freddie van Mierlo MP

Caroline Voaden MP

Max Wilkinson MP

Munira Wilson MP

Martin Wrigley MP

Claire Young MP